Side Quest: Centaurs Like Apples too, Right?

I’m uploading a different baked apple recipe because I was experimenting and I like this better. Takes about 30-ish minutes to make and your house will smell like Thanksgiving. But is that such a bad thing?

Baked Apples.Mine

You really need centaur hair for your next potion, but they don’t trade in coin. You must trade them a physical object of value, preferably made by hand. This particular one has a sweet tooth so it would be rude to bring him anything else.

And Centaurs are part horse, so surely this would be a fair trade.

The Stuff:

  • 2 apples, I used ambrosia for this because they were going to go bad if I didn’t do something with them. I’m not a raw fruit kind of girl.
  • 3-4 tbsp of butter
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp of cloves
  • 1/4 tsp of vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp of lemon juice

How to make him happy:

  1. In a medium pan, start melting the butter while you work on the apples.
  2. Core the apples and slice them. I like chunky apples, so I sliced them into 1/16ths and then halved them. You can skin them first if you want.
  3. Add the sugar to the melted butter and stir until the sugar is mostly dissolved.
  4. Next add all of your other spices, juice, and extracts.
  5. Mix well, then add the apples.
  6. Let the apples simmer on low heat for about 30 minutes or until they’re soft enough for your taste. I like a little crunch still in mine, so 30 was perfect.
  7. Boom. Baked apples that’ll earn you the centaur hair for that thing you’re doing. Don’t think I don’t know what you’re up to with that.

Serving size: How should I know? The guy’s a centaur and I don’t know his dietary needs. Serve it up at your discretion.

Ayyyy, congrats! You made his day and got bonus XP for timeliness.

+30XP

Bonus: +6XP

Leave a comment